• Canada
  • 1 800 260 6682
  • GTranslate

Other ways to reach us: 1.800.260.6682 | 902.424.6650 | info@nsbi.ca
1800 Argyle Street, Suite 701 | Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada B3J3N8

Work in Nova Scotia

Government Structure

Provincial (Nova Scotia)

Parliament Building (Ottawa, Canada)

The Nova Scotia Legislature, consisting of the Lieutenant Governor and the House of Assembly, is the legislative branch of our provincial government. The Assembly is the oldest in Canada, having first sat in 1758. In 1848, Nova Scotia became the site of the first responsible government among the colonies of the British Empire.

Nova Scotia's provincial government has 51 Members in the Legislative Assembly (MLAs), representing 51 electoral districts. The Assembly meets in Province House (a National Historic Site and Canada’s oldest legislative building) in Halifax.

Electoral Maps

Federal (Canada)

Parliament Building (Ottawa, Canada)

The Federal legislature in Canada is located in Ottawa, Ontario. The government is a constitutional monarchy, and thus is represented by the Governor General, Senate and House of Commons. Each district throughout Canada elects a Member of Parliament to represent them in the House of Commons. The party with the most seats in the House of Commons is the ruling party and their leader is elected as Prime Minister. Legislation is typically approved through the House of Commons, where it then goes to review by the Senate, and is then given royal assent by the Governor General, before becoming law.

Nova Scotia is represented federally by 11 of 338 seats in the House of Commons.

Electoral Maps